Take a Chance, Have Faith!

You will see me write about how to be a good manager by having faith in yourself.  In this blog, I am writing about having faith in other people, specifically the people you lead and work with.  Trust me when I say I have had my share of disagreements with fellow employees over the years.  There were even those disagreements that definitely were not my finest moments.   Some of those people were real jerks; other people were disagreeable by nature, but still others were simply those people that just had a different point of view (even though I am positive that they were usually wrong and I was usually right.)

For the most part though, the people I have worked with, the ones I worked for, and those who I have attempted to lead have been people who wanted to contribute, wanted to succeed, and truly wanted to make a difference.  Occasionally, they just did not know exactly how to do these things.  Sometimes, they just needed a bit of motivation and encouragement to get them on the right path.  But by and by, the people I have had the opportunity to know and work with in my life have been overwhelmingly good people.

I believe that as a leader, you have to hire the right people, give them tasks to accomplish, and then get out of the way (empowerment).  Let me give you a couple of examples of this.

There is a job classification within my organization that we continually need to hire for.  The position is a low level clerical position where people stay the minimum (a year or two), and then move on to bigger and better opportunities, either within or outside of the organization.  I get it – this is an entry-level position which attracts people who just are not settled.  The people that fill this position have each brought their own strengths to the job and although each of them has done the job tasks well, they have chosen different ways to complete them with equally excellent results.  Each individual worked within his or her strengths and as a result have felt more involved with their job even though they eventually left.

Just recently an employee has left our organization that had been with us for seven years.  When I initially hired this employee for the position, it was something that I had been doing myself.  I trained this person in their job duties and for a while watched over them closely until it became apparent that they could do the job well.  This employee did things different from me for sure.  In fact, it was not until sometime later when I had to step in to handle something because they were out just how much the job was now unfamiliar to me.  This employee adapted it to fit their strengths and accomplished excellent results.

I see those managers that attempt to dictate every aspect of an employee’s job performance from the organization of their desk, down to the color of the ink they should use on a letter.  I know they have their reasons or at least they think they do, but usually I am finding that micromanaging an employee detracts from overall performance as the employee does not excel the same as when given just an end result, basic knowledge, and then trusted to accomplish and organize it by whatever means works best for them to deliver the required results.  If you are going to attempt to lead others, work with others, and follow others, you need to get to the point where you give people the respect they deserve, and the trust earned.  It is only when you Have Faith in others that you achieve the results you want.  Do you agree?

photo credit

About Patricia Knight
Hello and welcome. My name is Patricia Knight. Thank you for taking the time to view my blog. I’m a Human Resources professional who is currently pursing an MBA at the University of Nevada-Reno. I am an analytical, detail-oriented professional who believes that collaboration and negotiation are critical for successful employee relations between leadership and employees.

Leave a Reply

